Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to cite Government Documents
These Links will Show you how to Cite Government Documents:
More about Government Documents at Graceland
Searching for facts and stats
- American FactFinder: Using several censuses and survey, the American FactFinder provides data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and Island areas.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook L 2.3/4: How much does a movie director make a year? What do I need to study in high school to become a microbiologist? This is the document that one needs for those questions.
- USA Counties [Copyright restrictions prevent the inclusion of some tables in electronic versions.] C3.134/6: [online only] USA Counties has over 6,600 data items for the United States, states, and counties from a variety of sources.
Searching for Government Publications
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications: The finding tool for federal publications, historical and current, with direct links to those available online
- GovInfo: An online database that gives free access to official publications from all three branches of the United States Government .
- MetaLib: This is a search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Searching for Government Assistance
- Budget of the United States Government PREX 2.8, PREX 2.8/1 [online and print] Issued by the Office of Management and Budget, the budget is a collection of documents about the President’s budget proposal for a given fiscal year.
- Census of Population and Housing: Population & Housing Unit Counts (all states - U.S. Summary and Puerto Rico) (Series PHC-3) C 3.223/5: [online and print] This census provides information on historical comparisons of the population and housing units along with the land and water measurements and population density.
- Census of Population and Housing: Summary Population & Housing Characteristics (all states - U.S. Summary and Puerto Rico) (Series PHC-1) C 3.223/18: [online only] This part of the census provides information on the subjects of age, Hispanic or Latino origin, household relationship, sex, race, tenure, and vacancy characteristics.
- Census of Population and Housing: Summary Social - Economic - & Housing Characteristics (all states - U.S. Summary and Puerto Rico) (Series PHC-2) C 3.223/23: [online and print] This set of census data provides sample data on a wide range of subjects pertaining to social, economic and housing characteristics.
- Census of Population and Housing: Social - Economic - & Housing Characteristics (Outlying Areas) (Series PHC-4) C 3.223/23-2: [online only] Where are we and where are we going as a nation? Funds and assistance for different projects are decided by the data in this series of the census. Also, this data helps draw the lines for legislative districts.
- Code of Federal Regulations AE 2.106/3: [online only] This is the annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
- Congressional Directory Y 4.P 93/1:1 [online and print] The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts.
- Congressional Record (daily) X 1.1/A: [online, print, and microfiche] Published daily, this is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
- Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation Y 1.1/3: [online and print] Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the “legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.”
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents AE 2.109: [online only] The daily and weekly compilations of the Presidential documents are the official publication of material released by the White House Press Secretary.
- Economic Indicators Y 4.EC 7:EC 7 [online and print] Published monthly, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more. We keep one year of print on the periodicals shelves.
- Economic Report of the President PR 43.9: [online and print] An annual report which gives an overview of the nation’s economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. a
- Federal Register (daily) AE 2.106: [online only] The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States AE 2.114: [online and print] The official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.
- Social Security Handbook SSA 1.8/3 [online only] The resource for all Social Security questions.
- United States Statutes at Large AE 2.111 [online and print] The United States Statutes at Large containing the permanent laws – public and private – that were enacted during each session of Congress.
- United States Code Y 1.2/5 [online and print] The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-one titles.
- United States Government Manual AE 2.108/2 [online and print] This is the official handbook provided by the federal government on the agencies of the three branches of government.
- United States Reports JU 6.8 [online and print] Contains the 4th and final generation of the Supreme Court’s opinions.
- United States Reports (older issues)
- Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government [online only] A great tool for students, parents, and educators to use for learning and teaching about our nation’s government, history, and political structure.
F.M. Smith Library